Interesting facts about Victory Day

Victory Day is a holiday of the victory of the people of the Soviet Union over Nazi Germany in the Great Patriotic War of 1941-1945. Celebrated on May 9.

A non-working day in Abkhazia, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Transnistria, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Ukraine and South Ossetia.

On May 8, 1945 at 22:43 CET (May 9 at 12:43 Moscow time), Field Marshal Wilhelm Keitel, as well as Luftwaffe representative Colonel General Stumpf and the Kriegsmarine, Admiral von Friedeburg, who had the appropriate powers, signed the Unconditional Act the surrender of Germany, which took effect on May 9 at 01:00 Moscow time.

And literally half a day later, on May 9, 1945, a Li-2 aircraft with the crew of A.I. Semenkov, who delivered to Moscow the act of surrender of Nazi Germany.

In the United States, this holiday is called V-E Day or Victory in Europe Day and is celebrated on May 8.

Interestingly, Victory Day was considered a holiday until 1948; later, although it was celebrated, it was considered a working day. And only in the jubilee year 1965, Victory Day again became non-working.

During the existence of the USSR, military parades on Red Square on May 9 were in the anniversary years of 1965, 1975, 1985 and 1990. After the collapse of the Soviet Union, parades began to be held annually.

Since 2011, Patriarch Kirill of Moscow has decided to hold a prayer service in all churches of the Russian Orthodox Church on Victory Day in memory of the deliverance of the people "from a terrible, mortal enemy, from a danger that our Fatherland has not known in all history."